Set-Fire-to-the-Rain-91995

I set fire to the rain, watch it burn,

Crawling my way through the pain

Clawing the ground where you walked

I am desperately trying to erase every trace of you, wherever we walked

Every memory, so I pluck at my hair,

Cause as much physical damage, at least for a while the pain will be only be physical

So for a while I won’t think of you

Knees tucked into my chest, I am rocking back and forth

When that is no longer working, I get up, and pace to and fro

Now my floor is cracked, my wall paint gone

I am leaving destruction in my wake

Because silly me, I let me fall for you

See you never gave me a choice

One look into those eyes, and I was lost forever

Now I have burned all your pictures,

But pictures of you remain, when I sleep I dream of you, when I am awake, my imagination is running wild

Down memory lane, every part of me is clamoring for you

I am imagining she is waiting for you

And yet I can’t help myself, I am looking for you

My heart is screaming for you

So I run to you beg you to remember me

Beg you to undo this damage you have caused

You stand, unmoved, your eyes shuttered cold slits of ice

I am on the other side, my arms cold and empty

My heart bleeding endlessly, watching my lifeline snatched  away

Cruel fate doesn’t care

This side of you, I never knew

I want to touch your face, so old and familiar, my lifetime dreams hidden there

But that is now forbidden me

I turn away, and run, run as fast and far as I can

Dive into a lake of ice, oblivion I crave desperately

Right now, I’d do anything to not think

You brought me back to life

And took the life away

